How to Redirect a Post or Page in All in One SEO

The Redirection Manager in All in One SEO Pro enables you to redirect one or more URLs on your site to another.

There are various reasons why you’d want to create a redirect, including:

  • You’ve deleted content on your site and want to redirect the URL for that content somewhere else
  • You’ve changed the URL for content and want to make sure it’s found at the new URL
  • You’ve changed your URL or Permalink structure

Here’s how to easily add a redirect in All in One SEO Pro.

To get started, go to Redirects in the All in One SEO menu.

You’ll see the Redirects screen and at the top will be the Add New Redirection form.

In the Source URL field, enter the URL you want to redirect from. The URL must be a relative URL, i.e. don’t include the https://mydomain.com part of your URL.

In the Target URL field, enter the URL you want to redirect to. The URL can be either a relative URL or an absolute URL.

You can also start typing the title of any post, page or other content on your site, or the slug or ID in the Target URL field and the matching content will be displayed. Click on the post or page you want to select as your target.

In the Redirect Type drop down, select the type of redirect you want. The two most common are:

  • 301 Moved Permanently: Use this if you want to permanently redirect the old URL because the content has been deleted or moved.
  • 307 Temporary Redirect: Use this if you only want to temporarily redirect the old URL

Click the Add Redirect button to add your redirect.

The redirect will be shown in the Redirects table. There’s a toggle in the Enabled column if you want to disable it without deleting it.

The Hits column shows how many times the redirect has been used by visitors to your site.

You can test that the redirect is working by mousing over the source URL and clicking on the Check Redirect link.

You can edit a redirect by mousing over the source URL and clicking on the Edit link.

You can delete a redirect by mousing over the source URL and clicking on the Delete link.

Check out more documentation on our Redirection Manager here.

This feature was added in All in One SEO version 4.1.0.